Christopher J. Rozell has won a James S. McDonnell Foundation 21st Century Science Initiative Scholar Award in Studying Complex Systems.

The James S. McDonnell Foundation funds research and scholarship to "improve the quality of life" via a peer-reviewed proposal process. The Complex Systems Program awards funding to study the theory and tools needed to further the science of complex systems in a variety of fields.

Rozell received his Ph.D. from the DSP group in 2007 and is an associate professor in the Georgia Tech School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Georgia Tech ECE Press Release
James S. McDonnell Foundation

DSP alumnus Jürgen Götze's son Mario Götze scored the deciding goal in the World Cup final!

Professor Richard Baraniuk has been named a 2014 Highly Cited Researcher by Thompson Reuters. Highly Cited Researchers wrote the greatest number of publications with the top 1% of citations in their field. Thompson Reuters deems these researchers "some of the world's leading scientific minds" with "exceptional impact".

This list is the first update to the original list published in 2001 and covers papers published from 2002 to 2012. Visit for the full list and the methodology used to create it.
Rice news release

Michael Wakin, Ph. D. '06, has received an Excellence in Research award from the Colorado School of Mines. The annual award recognizes a junior and a senior faculty member for their outstanding research accomplishments while at CSM. Wakin received the junior award for faculty with under 10 years of university research after Ph.D./postdoctoral training. Nominations come from CSM colleagues and external letters of recommendation are used to make the final decision.

DSP postdoc and faculty alumnus Rob Nowak recently received both the 2014 IEEE W.R.G. Baker Award and a 2014 Kellett Mid-Career Award from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The IEEE W.R.G Baker Award recognizes the most outstanding work published in any IEEE archival publication between 3 and 5 years prior to the award presentation. Nowak, UW-Madison Computer Sciences Professor Stephen Wright, and Mário A.T. Figueiredo of the Instituto Superior Técnico of Portugal won for their paper "Sparse Reconstruction by Separable Approximation", published in IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing in 2009.

The Kellett Mid-Career Award recognizes outstanding faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison who have had tenure for 7 to 20 years and provides research funding to further their excellent work.

Chris Metzler has won a prestigious National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship from the U.S. Department of Defense. The fellowship provides full support and a stipend for three years.

Chris is thrilled about the freedom the fellowship gives him to choose his own research topics, focusing on the issues that matter most.

The NDSEG Fellowship is sponsored by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR), the Army Research Office (ARO), the High Performance Computing Modernization Program (HPCM), and the Office of Naval Research (ONR), under the direction of the Director of Defense Research and Engineering (DDR&E).

Congratulations, Chris!

Salman Asif joins us after a brief stop at Samsung Research in Dallas. Prior to that he was at Georgia Tech, where he received his PhD under the supervision of Justin Romberg, which makes him a 3rd (?) generation member of the Rice DSP group. His PhD work focused on compressive sensing, fast algorithms for dynamic updating of L1 problems, and recovery algorithms for streaming signals and videos. His current focus is on different aspects of compressive sensing, computational and medical imaging, and machine learning. He looks forward to new challenges and adventures at Rice!

Salman joined the DSP group in February, 2013.

Photo: Salman with a potential next generation DSPer, Noraiz, in Portland.

Mo received a Ph.D. degree (2012) in Computer and Communication sciences from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland. His thesis focused on compressive sampling and source separation strategies for multichannel data. In 2013, he moved to Paris doing a postdoc in Applied Mathematics Research Center (CEREMADE-CNRS), Université Paris Dauphine, France. His research interests include signal/image processing, machine learning, inverse problems, sparse approximation (models, algorithms, analysis), compressed sensing, high-dimensional matrix factorization with applications in multichannel signal/image/speech blind source separation. Mo joined the DSP group in January, 2014.

After finishing his post-doc with the DSP group in 2013, Christoph Studer is now an assistant professor at Cornell's School of Electrical and Computer Engineering starting January, 2014.

Christoph is thrilled to get started in Ithaca, NY, while missing Houston and his DSP peeps.

Congratulations, Chris!

Broadcom is pleased to announce that Rohit Gaikwad has been named a 2013 Broadcom Fellow. Each year Broadcom awards certain individuals who have distinguished themselves as leaders and innovators, and who stand out even within the exceptional technical environment of Broadcom. The title of Broadcom Fellow is the highest honor the company bestows upon a very limited number of its most talented engineers. Rohit was selected because his tremendous accomplishments have contributed to the technical legacy and overall success of Broadcom.

Rice University, MS-380 - 6100 Main St - Houston, TX 77005 - USA -